Advice please on collimation tools for N10

Hi all,

I am completely new to fast astrographs. I understand that accurate collimation is critical for good performance. I will soon be mounting my N10 on my DDM60Pro for the first time. My dealer sold me an unbranded laser collimator. I have experimented with it and it seems to show collimation errors which I guess are to be expected after transport from Austria to Australia. However, I have little confidence in the results as there is so much play between the collimator and its 2" adapter.

Could more experienced users please advise me on what collimation tools they have found to be easiest to use and most reliable and accurate? I notice that ASA recommends Catseye collimators. I have had a look at the Catseye website but I find it fairly confusing.

So what I am really asking for is recommendations on what to buy.

Thankyou

Ian

Hi Ian,

I just received an InfinityXLKP and TelecatXLS, plus the illumination torch. I found it all a bit confusing at first, but used after the LCOL laser collimator the Infinity gave a good check. I find the identification of the four reflections a bit tricky, but I'm sure I'll get used to it!

I find the laser gets me very close, but it's important NOT to tighten the holding screws - rather ensuring that the mounting face of the collimator is hard against the focuser face. This also goes for the Catseye tools.

Regards,

Mark

Ian,

I own both most popular tools, i.e. the catseye set (Infinity XLK + Blackcat XL) as well as Howie Glatter's tools (along with tuBlug and some other tool for secondary adjustment)... both tools have some weak points that piss me off very much (I am very demanding customer who hates any weak points ever).

As MarkS (above) points out, it's essential to not tighten any of the screws, rather to make sure you strongly fit the front side of the collimating tool to the 2" sleeve. I hate this approach, but all the manufacturers are just idiots...