To ASA, When will the manuals for Autoslew etc be updated?

w0mbat

Dear ASA,

As someone who is completely new to modern sophisticated equipment such as my DDM60Pro, I am finding that most of my frustrations and difficulties come from the out of date and incomplete manuals for the hardware and associated software. Fortunately I have a lot of experience with complex technology and software in fields other than astronomy and I generally am able to blunder through in the end. Were this not the case I would be completely lost.

This leads me to ask when the manuals will be brought up to date and cover every aspect of the equipment and software? I believe that the wonderful products made by ASA are being let down by inadequate and out of date documentation. This is not good for the reputation of ASA.

I would respectfully like to make some suggestions for these updates.

1. The manuals should not assume any prior knowledge. When technical jargon is used it must be explained at least on the first use or in a glossary.

2. Important procedures should be set out in a simple step by step way.

3. When there are exceptions to a procedure they should be put in a separate section, not mixed in with the normal procedure.

4. The manuals must cover every aspect of the software or equipment. There is a significant number of functions or parts of Autoslew, for example, that are simply not mentioned in the manuals.

5. When a manual is translated into another language, the manual should be proof read by a native speaker of that language. There are examples in the documentation of inappropriate use of words that do not make sense to a native speaker. For instance, in the Autoslew manual the word "overseen" is used when the writer clearly means "overlooked". To a native English speaker these two words have very different meanings. I am sure there are forum users, including myself, who would be willing to do this proof reading.