Servo Setup - Balance

sollner77

Question

Here's my situation:  As of two nights ago, I was able to image for 10+ minutes without guiding - no trails, round stars.  I had meticulously hand-balanced the mount on both axes in multiple configurations - afterward, with motor off, nudging the mount to move in both axes resulted in smooth and effortless movement in all directions, stopping with no telltale off-balance movement.  Come last night, with no changes to the setup, the mount vibrates intermittently and creates disturbing sound effects.  Checking the balance, all is well, no change from my earlier remarks.

I have tried to use the balance function before, but when the bars are aligned the system is seriously out of balance in all positions.   Admittedly, I am still a novice at this and may not be performing the Servo balance function properly - my results certainly support that.  Any help in resolving my "in balance" out of balance would be appreciated.

3 answers to this question

I have had exactly the same noise and vibration on my DDM85XL occasionally when it was supposedly in balance and tuned, although this has always been after I have re-balanced. Not sure what causes it but I have managed to get rid of it by playing with the tuning.

I'm not sure if it's possible to balance the mount well enough manually without using the "balance function graphs". I wonder how well the mount is actually balanced if the alignment of the graphs is way off. Also the graphs have to aligned in all different mount positions not just in one position.

One thing I've noticed with some (heavier setups) is that I can't use the noise filter (especially RA axis) without getting lots of strange noise and vibration. Turning the filter OFF solved the problem.

Jay