balancing questions

prefetch

Question

so i've been wrestling with balance on my DDM85 with my C14HD for a few months now.  the stars in my images aren't super round - mostly slightly egg shaped, and it's driving me nuts.

i assume it's because i'm not quite as balanced as i should be.  based on everything i've read, and experienced, imbalance is the root of all evil for the ASA DDM system.

i just thought i'd check with everyone to see what they think about the process i'm going through.

here's what i've been doing:

JtIDstP.png

and step 2:

rhXgbo5.png

and finally, do the RA balance.

i've been setting the balancing tool to measure at a scale of 1.5 A and when i get step 1 lined up on the east side, i then move it over to the west side and verify that step 1 is still balanced, and it invariably is not.

at this point, i don't bother going to step 2 because if i can't get step 1 balanced on east *and* west sides, then there isn't much point in continuing.

today i got desperate, and i tore my image train down to nothing and went to step 1 for east, then west.  next, i added my OAG, and repeated step 1 on east then west, rotating it into place to find the perfect balance.

after that, i added my focuser, and repeated everything.

then my filter wheel, and at this point, i simply couldn't get east and west to match.  i use an FLI centerline focuser.  i guess it's not balanced.  it has two wheels, 4 filters in one, 3 in the other - and perhaps that extra filter on the one side makes it imbalanced.  the DDM is so freaking sensitive it drives me crazy.

anyway, my question to everyone is, does this method make sense?  and how close do you match the red lines at 1.5A?  i try to get them to settle exactly on top of each other.

and another question - if you slew the mount around and run the balance tool at random places, do you actually get it to show balance in arbitrary positions?  i believe this is the holy grail, but this seems nearly unobtainable for my setup.