Help with Home position in Southern Hemisphere please

w0mbat

Hello all,

This is my first post in this forum and I am a complete novice with DDM mounts so please forgive any stupid questions.

I live in south eastern Australia and have recently taken delivery of my DDM60 Pro and N10 astrograph. After months of building my observatory I am now up to the fun part of installing the mount etc.

My question is about Home position. In the Autoslew manual (which,unfortunately ignores the existence of the southern hemisphere) it speaks of the sense of having home position near the reference marks so there is not much movement required to do a Homefind after power on.

Of course, in the southern hemisphere, the reference marks are where the weight shaft points west so I thought I could set a new home position to suit this fact. So I position the mount with the weight shaft pointing west and the telescope pointing to the zenith and go to Mount/Set new Home Position. I press Yes to agree that I want to set a new home in the box that appears.

Then I move the mount away somewhere and then click the Home1 button and the green Slew button. Instead of moving to the new Home that I think I set, the mount slews to the zenith but with the weight shaft pointing East.

What am I missing here? It appears that either I have misunderstood something or the change Home position routine does not work or the Home1 position is not able to be changed.

I have the ASA GPS stick so the mount knows it is in the Southern Hemisphere and has reversed the motor directions to suit.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ian

Edited by w0mbat

Hi Ian,

I think you are getting muddled up between 'Home position' and 'Park position'. I was similarly confused when I got my mount.

You need to set a new park position. This is found under 'Mount... Park Positions... Set new Parkposition'.

Move your mount to where you want it to 'sleep' and then follow this sequence.